This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our PRIVACY POLICY for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
  • Border opening to all Schengen states from 15 June 2020

    News and current developments on work and residence permits


News and current developments on work and residence permits

12 June 2020


Border opening to all Schengen states from 15 June 2020

Switzerland announced earlier that it would lift the remaining entry restrictions at the borders with Austria, Germany and France on 15 June. Due to the reduction of pandemic risk, the government has further relaxed restrictions. Switzerland will therefore lift the entry restrictions with all EU/EFTA states on 15 June. There will enable freedom of travel and the Free Movement of Persons will once again apply without restrictions with all states within the Schengen area. The same applies to citizens from non-Schengen states such as the United Kingdom, Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus who are entitled to Freedom of Movement.

The above-mentioned six countries will remain on the risk list from 15 June onwards and until further notice; which means that the entry of third-country nationals from these countries into Switzerland will continue to be restricted. Nevertheless, persons entitled to Freedom of Movement and thus citizens of these six states, their family members irrespective of their nationality, and third-country nationals who are posted by a company based in these states for a maximum of 90 days per year may re-enter Switzerland from 15 June.

The current entry restrictions, including visa requirements for third countries, will remain in place for the time being. The Federal Council will decide on relaxation of restrictions later and in consultation with the Schengen states.

The following relaxation of restrictions in the area of migration have already been in force since 8 June 2020: COVID-19: Relaxation of entry requirements as of June 8 2020


Obligation to register with the authorities (RAV) reintroduced on 8 June 2020

The obligation to register a job was reintroduced on 8 June 2020. The Federal Council decided this on 27 May. The list of professions subject to the obligation to register for 2020 remains in force.

Since 1 July 2018, employers have been legally obliged to notify the Regional Employment Placement Centre (RAV) of job vacancies in occupational types that reach or exceed a defined annual average unemployment rate throughout Switzerland. Since 1 January 2020, the obligation to report vacancies has applied to professions with at least 5 percent unemployment throughout Switzerland.

The Federal Council had lifted the job registration obligation for the period from 26 March 2020 to 7 June 2020 due to Covid-19, in order to simplify recruitment processes in certain areas.